State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee

Sen. Thomas C. Alexander, Chairman

Rep. William E. Sandifer, III, Vice Chairman

Margaret Bluestein, Esquire

Rep. P. Michael Forrester

Sen. C. Bradley Hutto

Dan Jones

Rep. David J. Mack, III

Gregg Morton

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Sr.

John S. Simmons, Esquire



Heather Anderson Committee Counsel Steve Davidson Committee Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6208

LEGAL AD:

The State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee is beginning its screening process for Seats 2, 4, and 6 of the South Carolina Public Service Commission. The State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee will be accepting applications for Seats 2, 4, and 6 beginning Thursday, February 22, 2018, until 12:00 p.m., Monday, March 26, 2018. The Public Service Commission has jurisdiction over matters pertaining to investor-owned electric and gas utilities, water and wastewater companies, telecommunications companies, carriers of household goods and hazardous waste for disposal, taxicabs, and other motor vehicle passenger carriers. A commissioner must have at least a baccalaureate degree. It is preferred that a commissioner have a background of substantial duration in one of the following areas: (a) energy; (b) telecommunications; (c) consumer protection and advocacy; (d) water and wastewater; (e) finance, economics, and statistics; (f) accounting; (g) engineering; or (h) law.

The Commission is composed of seven commissioners, one from each of the seven Congressional districts. The Commissioner for the Second Public Service Commission District represents Aiken, Barnwell, and Lexington counties, as well as parts of Orangeburg and Richland counties. The Commissioner for the Fourth Public Service Commission District represents parts of Greenville and Spartanburg counties. The Commissioner for the Sixth Public Service

Commission District represents Allendale, Bamberg, Calhoun, Clarendon, Hampton, Jasper, and Williamsburg counties, as well as parts of Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Florence, Orangeburg, Richland, and Sumter counties. The salary for these positions is approximately \$107,822 annually.

Each candidate is required to submit a completed application form no later than the March 26th deadline. Applications will not be accepted after noon on March 26, 2018. Following the March 26th filing deadline, the Review Committee will begin its background investigation of candidates. Candidates and potential candidates are subject to certain restrictions with respect to contacting members of the General Assembly.

Application forms may be obtained from the State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee, 102 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, by contacting Heather Anderson, (803) 212-6208 or heatheranderson@scsenate.gov, or by contacting Michelle McGee, (803) 212-6634 or michellemcgee@scsenate.gov. For further information, contact Ms. Anderson or Ms. McGee, or visit the Public Utilities Review Committee's website at: https://www.scstatehouse.gov/CommitteeInfo/PublicUtilitiesReviewComm/2018PublicServiceCommissionScreeningInfo.php.